[Babbles] Of whacked-out events and missing MHC

In a matter of a week, an earthquake with ensuing aftershocks hit the East Coast, meanwhile Hurricane Irene  is lurking somewhere in the Atlantic, ready to rummage in as well. I know the earthquake was only moderate, but a piece of the National Cathedral – my beloved in DC, broke off for crying out loud and the 150-year-old Smithsonian tower, my home for two summers now has cracks all over…And who would have suspected a freaking tremor let alone an entire earthquake in the East Coast, felt up to New England, for that matter?

I hadn’t been back to the school’s website in so long, but today found myself opening the burnt orangey/yellow page that was my homepage for 4 years again to this: http://www.mtholyoke.edu/news/channels/22/stories/5683026

A warning on Hurricane Irene, possible case of flooding and “loss of communications” on campus grounds. I don’t think I recall ever having to deal with anything as huge , with the exception of that snow storm, Valentines’ Day of 2007 when my PVTA bus was stuck on Rt 116 for 4 hours. But again, that’s snow, a snow storm in New England is as common as campus breakfast: occasionally loved, frequently neglected, and best avoided…but flooding? Nature’s gone and whacked out in the States with this series of happenings I’m telling you and ,I have no idea how serious all of this is going to get, but I’m crossing my fingers from Hanoi here for the safest and best over there. The status from which I got this link off of on facebook compared Irene to a category 1 storm in Vietnam which is nothing…but I’m doubting those remarks considering how everyone on the East Coasts seem quite flustered with it all. The fact that it’s a hurricane coming to the Pioneer Valley alone (MHC context wise), that’s enough to get your pants tied up in a bunch. Keep me updated, I am, you know, half way around the world here. Glad to hear some of you (you know who you are ) are at least stocking up, be it booze and chips, you have the awareness and preparation mode set, lol 😀

Missing MHC, Missing DC, thoughts to all my loved ones, that includes people and structures! (no more trees falling on campus dorms, please)

Leave a Reply

